Support in the preparation of recruitment competitions

Forewords

A successful application requires an excellent scientific application, which must be well prepared and well presented. Experience shows that common mistakes can weaken even very good applications. Some of these mistakes can be easily detected and corrected in advance. To do so, candidates must rely on external viewpoints from scientists sharing other fields of expertise. Former members of a national comittee are therefore particularly well-suited for bringing such an insight.

The Paris Observatory proposes to applicants for a permanent position in one of its laboratories some help and training to prepare for this competition. An informal group of researchers, who have been part of a comittee, is ready for helping in building your application and in preparing your interview.

This help is neither pre-requisite to apply to the Paris Observatory, nor a pre-selection. Our intervention will remain strictly confidential with respect to the actual comittee members as well as to the Observatoire de Paris, the laboratory management and the teams. It can take various forms according to your wishes. For instance, and in a non-exclusive way, we can propose you

  • A discussion with one or more members of the group on the application processes and their context.
  • A critical reading of your written application.
  • A rehearsal, in real conditions, of the interview.

We are committed to strict neutrality and will take care to avoid conflicts of interest. We are also committed to benevolence and discretion.

We will also provide you, in November, with a general presentation of the application process and expectation of the comittee members.

If you are interested, please send a short résumé to membres.apcr@sympa.obspm.fr1 as soon as possible to leave enough room for improving your application and/or interview.


  1. This address goes to all members of the group 

en fr

Accompagnement à la Préparation aux Concours de Recrutement

Présentation

Une candidature couronnée de succès nécessite un excellent dossier scientifique, qui doit être bien préparé et bien présenté. L'expérience montre que des erreurs courantes peuvent fragiliser même les très bons dossiers. Certaines de ces erreurs sont pourtant faciles à anticiper. Pour cela, les candidats doivent s’appuyer sur un regard extérieur et en particulier sur celui de scientifiques partageant d'autres champs d'expertise. Les chercheurs ayant été membres d'un jury national sont donc particulièrement pertinents pour apporter un tel éclairage.

L'Observatoire de Paris propose aux jeunes chercheuses et chercheurs candidats à un concours de recrutement au sein d'un de ses laboratoires de les aider à préparer ces concours. Un groupe informel de chercheurs, ayant participé récemment à des jurys de concours, est prêt à vous rencontrer pour vous aider à construire votre dossier et préparer votre audition.

Cette aide n'est absolument pas requise pour pouvoir candidater à L'Observatoire de Paris. Elle n'est pas une présélection. Notre intervention restera strictement confidentielle aussi bien vis-à-vis des jurys que de l'Observatoire de Paris, des directions de laboratoires et des équipes. Elle pourra prendre des formes variées selon vos souhaits. Par exemple, et de façon non exclusive, nous pouvons vous proposer:

  • Une discussion avec un ou plusieurs membre du groupe sur les concours et leur contexte.
  • Une relecture critique de votre dossier écrit.
  • Une répétition orale dans les conditions du concours.

Nous nous engageons à la plus stricte neutralité et nous veillerons à éviter les conflits d'intérêt. Nous nous engageons également à la bienveillance et à la discrétion.

Nous vous proposerons également, fin novembre, une présentation générale des concours et de ce qu'attendent les jurys.

Si vous êtes intéressé, envoyez un court CV (même provisoire) à membres.apcr@sympa.obspm.fr1. Faites-le le plus tôt possible pour avoir le temps de retravailler votre dossier et/ou votre présentation.


  1. Cette adresse comporte tous les membres du groupe. 

en fr